Posted by: Emily | November 21, 2010

Want more energy? Go for a bike ride

It’s been almost three weeks since I returned from my trip to Derby and in that time I haven’t, up until today, been for a single non-commute ride. It started innocently enough. Having covered a few hundred miles on my trip I felt it was a good idea to give myself a proper rest so decided to have a weekend without any cycling or other exercise. I spent a wonderful two days pretty much horizontal on my couch watching back-to-back episodes of Criminal Minds whilst it poured down with rain outside. I indulged in all my favourite foods and didn’t feel the slightest bit bad about being so lazy. The following weekend I had planned to do a sportive on the Sunday, but by Saturday I wasn’t really feeling it – whatever ‘it’ may be – and in the end it turned out to be another bike-free weekend with lots of quality time on the couch.

This weekend I decided enough was enough and I would go for a ride on the Sunday. I had a lazy Saturday safe in the knowledge that I’d make up for it the following day, but as Sunday rolled round, the thought of getting on the bike and going for a ride didn’t fill me with excitement. My sofa was calling out to me and anything that required more energy than lifting the remote control or going to the fridge seemed unappealing. It suddenly hit me that I was in danger of becoming one of those people who doesn’t do exercise because they’re “too tired” or “don’t have the energy”.  Before I knew it I was putting on my cycling kit, pumping up tyres and checking to make sure I had a spare inner tube.

I decided I would ride to Richmond Park on my Van Nicholas Yukon. Within the first few minutes of getting on the bike I knew it was going to be a great ride and I was full of energy and raring to go. I’m not really sure how I could transform from couch potato to energiser bunny in less than 15 minutes, but somehow I’d managed it. Although it was a little cold outside, I was wearing my new DeFeet DuraGlove gloves which kept my fingers nice and warm, whilst still giving me great contact with the bike. They were a copycat purchase after I saw Ian wearing a pair last week and they’ve already become one of my favourite cycling accessories. For anyone considering buying a pair, I’d definitely recommend them.

As I made my way to Richmond Park, I was very aware of how great it felt to be riding the Yukon. It’s such a comfortable bike, but also surprisingly fast and zippy. Once in the park itself I had a fantastic lap and although there were quite a lot of cars, I was still able to cycle relatively freely and certainly more so than almost anywhere else in London. The combination of hills/descents makes for a great training ride and had my Garmin been working properly, I expect my heart rate would have been in the high 150’s, if not higher, at times. Having the deer wandering freely was an added bonus, even if it meant having to occasionally stop for them to cross the path ahead.

By the time I got home I felt amazing. The ride was only 30 miles in total but I loved every minute of it and it was, without a shadow of a doubt, the highlight of my weekend.

The Deer

Leave a Reply

Categories

