Posted by: Ian | April 17, 2010

Gears

I’ve been emailing bespokecycling.com recently and giving ever more concrete thought to my new training bike. One topic about which I’m still undecided is gear ratios. After riding around the hills of San Francisco on a Giant equipped with standard chain rings and cassette I wondered whether I really needed a compact groupset like I have on the Felt, with 50-34 front and 11-28 rear. Since then, though, there have been several occasions when I’ve been grinding up Somerset’s hills in my lowest gear and wondered why on earth I’d consider anything else.
Riding the Tempo provides an alternative perspective. Yesterday after reading this post about Swaines Lane I had an urge to cycle up it on my way back to Notting Hill. I persuaded Emily to join me, although she frankly admitted that while it’s more or less on her way home she wasn’t feeling very motivated about tackling the only hill in London featuring in the 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs book on her commuter fixie.

Leave a Reply

Categories

