Posted by: Emily | February 7, 2010

Cycling: good for your health, bad for your hair

I’m generally a pretty low maintenance person when it comes to my hair. I don’t use a hair dryer, I don’t own a hairbrush, let alone hair straighteners, and the only ‘styling’ that I do is comb it through after I’ve washed it. This time-efficient strategy seemed perfectly adequate previously, but since I started cycling, I seem to be having a permanently bad hair day. According to Wikipedia, Bedhead is “the condition of having unkempt hair, generally as a result of having just woken up from sleep”. What Wikipedia doesn’t have a definition for, is Bikehead, “the condition of having unkempt hair, generally as a result of having just been for a bike ride whilst wearing a bicycle helmet”. It’s not just my hair that’s suffering either. Bike maintenance definitely doesn’t lend itself to nice, or even clean, nails and don’t even think about cycling in make up. I’m sure that in Paris, the girls look chic at all times, even whilst wearing a helmet. Sadly, I’ve not yet managed to achieve this and my cycle ‘look’ (if you can call it a look) is more one more of practicality than style. I console myself with the fact that I’ve, so far, managed to avoid the dreaded yellow reflective shoulder sash, despite multiple suggestions from my father. Even I have some standards to maintain…

Leave a Reply

Categories

