Posted by: Emily | January 2, 2010

Ride It!

I’ve signed up for one of the Evans Ride It! events, which, according to the Evans site, are a series of organised sportive road and off-road rides designed to “‘take the hassle out of riding your bike”. I initially had some reservations, I don’t think of cycling as a hassle for a start, but the idea of getting out of London for some traffic-free cycling appeals so I thought I’d give it a go. It takes place in just over one week and will be my first proper ride of 2010.

Evans hold Ride It! events throughout the year. Each one takes place over a weekend and offers a number of different rides on both the Saturday for “mud worshipers” and Sunday for “tarmac lovers”. As much as the idea of getting nice and muddy sounds like fun, when it comes to cycling I think I’m more of a road lover, I know my bike certainly is, so I’ll be doing the Long Sportive. ‘Long’ equates to 65 miles. They also have Fun, Short and Medium versions at 12, 20 and 45 miles respectively. Although this will be my longest ride so far, by a whole five miles, having looked at the route profile, it doesn’t seem too challenging in terms of the hills. I have no issue with the uphill, but given my Beast experience I’m still somewhat nervous (aka petrified) about the descents. Something I intend to overcome as soon as possible.

I’ve normally done my best to coerce others into signing up for these kind of events, but I think I’ll be doing this one solo. I did think about trying to convince Nicky, my sister, and Andrew, my soon-to-be brother-in-law (7 weeks and counting!), to come along as spectators, but I’m not sure their idea of fun involves getting up at 05:30 on a Sunday morning, driving up the M4 (with a bike) and then hanging around in the cold, waiting for me to finish my ride. I can’t think why…

Leave a Reply

Categories

