Posted by: Emily | November 12, 2009

No pain, no gain

If you’ve read Ian’s post on the Exmoor Beast, you may be aware that I came off my bike quite spectacularly on one of the dowhnhills. Although I was unable to finish The Beast, I was determined to get back on the bike as soon as possible. Luckily, with the help of Nurofen, I was able to do this the very next day and managed to cycle to work as normal (albeit somewhat slower than usual). I was, however, in quite a considerable amount of pain and even now, over 10 days since the fall, I’m still hurting. Obviously the sensible thing to do would be to give my body a rest and not cycle until I feel better. There are a number of problems with this. Firstly, I rarely make choices based on how ‘sensible’ they are. Secondly, even the thought of not being able to cycle makes me feel miserable. Thirdly, I’d have to get the Tube to work. And back home again. Every day. You understand my dilemma.

So I’m still cycling and still taking the Nurofen. For those people that think I’m crazy/stupid: maybe I am. But, at least in my mind, the psychological benefits and enjoyment I get from cycling far outweigh anything else. Even cycling back this evening in the rush hour and pouring rain, without any waterproofs, was wonderful (in a soaking wet kind of way). That’s the thing about cycling. Once you start, you don’t want to stop.

Leave a Reply

Categories

