Posted by: Ian | November 9, 2009

Tyres on test

Having ripped up my back tyre – a Vittoria Rubino PRO folding 700x25c – on a recent Somerset circuit, I needed at least one new tyre to get my Felt back on the road. After reading a few reviews on line I picked up a pair of Conti GP 4000 S’s from Evans. As much as anything, I liked the boast of nanotechnology in the “black chilli compound”. Gimmick-wise, they’re only surpassed by Conti’s Force & Attack combo, which also deploys black chilli but with a more exciting name – indeed a pair of names – and the novelty of different tyre widths on the front (22mm) and rear (24mm). It makes sense to have a wider tyre on the drive wheel doesn’t it?

On the bike the 4000S’s are really sticky with more adhesion than any other tyre I’ve used. Perhaps it’s psychological but they seemed to me correspondingly slower over the road than the Vittoria’s. Probably I simply couldn’t accept the physics of simultaneously greater road adhesion + greater road speed as claimed in the reviews: how is that possible? But here’s another review, unsurprisingly given in full on the Conti web site, that claims that it is.

The review is a twofer: not only does it reassure me about my new tyres, it also dispels the thought at the back of my mind that I should be riding on tubular tyres instead of clinchers. The tubs did worse in the test than the folding Conti’s.

Responses

  1. […] a couple of days ago and the tyres remain intact. Compared to the nanotechnological black chilli GP4000S’s, though, they’re not as […]

  2. […] my latest problem has been with tyres. The ones I want to love are my Conti GP4000S’s, and like my MacBook Pro and my Garmin there is plenty about them that makes me loathe to seek an […]

  3. […] by the guys at Bicycle Chain in Taunton. On both the Felt and the Tempo I run my favourite 23mm Conti GP4000S‘s inflated to 120 […]

  4. […] seems to demand tubulars. In response to a previous post, we recently had a comment arguing that tubulars are best. Well, they may be but I’ve had around a dozen punctures this winter and I fancy neither […]

  5. Tubs are better, ignore any data you see that suggests otherwise.

  6. […] of a draw. I was tempted to take the Felt – when I wheeled it across the drive yesterday its black chilli tyres screeched through the snow, evidencing the science fiction magic of their molecular grip on any […]

  7. […] confidently over the ice: science, specifically the nanotechnological black chilli compound in my Conti 4000S’s, was my friend. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  8. […] at Talbot House, I kept looking at the new tyres on my Felt, which had their first and so far only outing at the Exmoor Beast. I really wanted to […]

  9. […] 32mm Armadillos on the Tri and they’re useful when the roads are coated in slimy leaves. The GP 4000S’s are made of much grippier rubber but the 50% extra width has to win for absolute traction. I headed […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

